NewsTexas News


Disaster declaration approved for 23 Texas counties

Posted at 1:01 PM, Aug 23, 2020
and last updated 2020-08-25 16:38:43-04

AUSTIN, Texas — Governor Greg Abbott announced Monday that Public Assistance Category B (Emergency Protective Measures) that were requested Sunday, were approved.

"Specifically, FEMA is authorized to provide emergency protective measures (Category B), limited to direct Federal assistance and reimbursement for mass care including evacuation and shelter support at 75 percent federal funding," said a release from Abbott's office.

The counties included in the state disaster declaration are Aransas, Bexar, Brazoria, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Kenedy, Kleberg, Liberty, Matagorda, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, and Willacy.

"As Hurricane Marco and Tropical Storm Laura approach Texas, the state is taking necessary precautions to protect our communities and keep Texans safe," Abbott said. "I urge Texans in the path of these storms to plan ahead and heed the guidance of their local officials. The State of Texas is working with local and federal partners to monitor these storms and provide the resources our communities need to respond."

Hurricane Marco is expected to make landfall in Louisiana on Monday before moving towards Texas on Tuesday evening as a depression. This hurricane is expected to bring heavy rain and tropical storm-force winds to the Texas Coast and Southeast Texas as it approaches the state. Tropical Storm Laura is forecast to become a hurricane on Tuesday, and this storm is expected to make landfall anywhere over Southeast Texas or Louisiana early Thursday. Wind, heavy rain and storm surges are expected on Wednesday as Tropical Storm Laura enters the Gulf.

Watch Abbott's press conference from Austin here.