A bill introduced in Texas legislature aims to eliminate the necessity for Barbers and Cosmetologists to have a license.
Many Barbers and Cosmetology professionals have spoken out against the bill (HB 1705), claiming that it is unsafe for untrained people to be doing what they do.
“Staph [infection], ringworm, things like that. We learn these things and take the precautions in our salon so that doesn’t happen,” Emily Ingraham, a Redken professional colorist told Central Texas News Now. “As a client, how would I know that I am going to be receiving the care that is deserved it to me and that I’m paying for?”
Matt Shaheen, a representative who filed the bill, defended it in a statement to News Channel 6.
“The legislation was created to expand employment opportunities by eliminating unnecessary occupational licenses. I have always made public safety a priority, and I fully support various occupational licenses in our state that are required to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public. Cosmetology is a field in which the consumer can be trusted to seek out the best service provider without any serious risk of harm. There are several vocations in Texas that pertain to aspects of public safety like car mechanics, personal trainers, and electrologists that are not required by the state to be licensed. It is shocking that the average EMT is required to complete 120-150 hours of training on average whereas cosmetologists are required to complete 1500 hours of training. Texans that are willing to join the workforce and compete – especially low-income Texans looking to improve their lives – should face the fewest obstacles possible, and by requiring a cosmetology license, we’re creating unnecessary obstacles for those who want to earn a living. For current students, this enables them to enter the workforce quickly and earn a living sooner. It also prevents future students from incurring massive debt because they won’t have to meet arbitrarily established state licensing requirements.”
Many professionals believe the bill will not make it past the several steps it will take to become law, because professionals would not be happy about it and customers would notice a difference.
Texas would be the only state to have this sort of legislation; and if passed into law, HB 1705 would take effect in September 2019.