Illinois governor JB Pritzker has signed a bill banning the sale of tobacco products to minors.
Starting in July, if you want to buy cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco or any other nicotine based product, you’ll need to be at least 21 years old.
Currently you must be 18 or older to purchase tobacco products.
Illinois joins several other states who have already raised the age from 18 to 21.
The legislation also scraps penalties for minors possessing tobacco products.
But businesses will still face fines if they are caught selling tobacco products to minors.
Proponents of the legislation say the law will prevent teens from developing a dangerous, deadly habit.
Opponents say if 18 year olds can vote and serve in the military, they’re old enough to decide whether or not to smoke.