Governor Abbott issues disaster declaration in response to flooding

Posted at 3:56 PM, Jun 21, 2018
and last updated 2018-06-21 16:56:43-04

Governor Greg Abbott has issued a State Disaster Declaration for Texas counties affected by severe weather and flooding this week.

The declaration includes six counties, Aransas, Nueces, San Patricio, Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy.

"As severe weather and flooding continue to impact parts of Texas, our first priority is to ensure the safety of our fellow Texans in harm’s way," Governor Abbott said in a statement. "The State of Texas has activated all necessary resources to help respond to the ongoing severe weather, and we will continue to provide any assistance to local communities. I thank our first responders who are working to keep Texans safe, and I encourage all those in the affected regions to continue to heed all warnings from local officials.”

The full Declarationcan be read online at this link.