CCFD announces firefighter awards

Posted at 5:25 PM, Apr 23, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-23 18:25:36-04

The Corpus Christi Fire Department today announced the 2017 Firefighter of the Year and Prevention Officer of the Year.

According to the city, the award recipients are nominated by field personnel and selected based on their commitment and service to the citizens of Corpus Christi.

Firefighter II EMS Josh Brunemeier was named the 2017 Firefighter of the Year. Over the past few years, Brunemeier has been involved in numerous projects including Captain of the Fire Department’s undefeated football team, a member of the annual Easter basket collections team, his work with Muscular Dystrophy Association, Special Olympics and other worthwhile projects. 

Brunemeier has served in the department since January of 2013, and is currently assigned to Fire Station #6, C-Shift.

Firefighter II Inspector Juan Mora is the recipient of the 2017 Prevention Officer of the Year. Inspector Mora has been with the department since 1984. Since 2003, Inspector Mora has been a valuable member of the Fire Prevention Bureau. He possesses a wealth of knowledge as related to the understanding and implementation of the fire code. Mora will not compromise the safety of citizens when it comes to enforcement of the fire code.  His commitment to the protections of citizens in all types of occupancies makes him a valuable member of the Fire Prevention team.

Both firefighters will be recognized during a future ceremony.