Gov. Abbott's quarantine order now includes travelers from 11 total states

Posted at 6:41 PM, Mar 29, 2020
and last updated 2020-03-29 19:48:44-04

Texas Governor Greg Abbott has expanded a mandatory 14-day quarantine issued last week, for travelers from certain states.

The updated orders include people who've traveled from Louisiana by road or air and also has air restrictions from 10 other states.

"I am updating that executive order to also include travel by road," said Abbott. "Travel by road from any location in the state of Louisiana."

Department of Public Safety will be enforcing the order at entry points from Louisiana starting Monday at 12 p.m.. Those who ignore guidelines could get a $1,000 fine or 180 days in jail.

Commercial activity, military service, emergency response, health response, or critical infrastructure functions will not be under the new orders, according to Abbott.

Governor Abbott say travelers coming to Texas from Miami, Atlanta, Detroit, Chicago, all California airports and all Washington state airports will also be required to self-quarantine for 14 days. These states are added to the no-fly list of New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, and New Orleans.

People traveling from those states will have to fill out a form to DPS with their "quarantine location," and will be visited by troopers to make sure these individuals do not go out in public and are only visited by doctors or physicians.