Corpus Christi young professionals name ‘Person of the Year’

Posted at 2:40 PM, May 02, 2018
and last updated 2018-05-02 15:40:47-04

A local music producer received top recognition Wednesday by a group of young business professionals in Corpus Christi. 

The Corpus Christi Under 40 Person of the Year award went to Dusty Oliveria, best known by his DJ name "El Dusty."

El Dusty is a Latin Grammy nominated DJ and producer of electronic dance music described as electronic Cumbia. Part of his professional recognition was for his work with the community youth. Oliveria and his wife Cecy Trevino help run Chicas Rock, an afterschool music program focused on building girls’ self esteem. Oliveria also launched Turntable Academy in 2011 to teach youth the art of making beats. 

El Dusty is signed to Universal Music and set to release "Cumbia City, TX" on May 11. 

Each year the Corpus Christi Under 40 awards honor forty of the community’s best and brightest young professionals – all under the age of 40. A panel of community leaders score applicants through a blind judging process based on professional contributions and overall service to the community. 

The recognition took place over a breakfast awards ceremony at the Congressman Solomon P. Ortiz International Center. Corpus Christi Under 40 began 12 years ago and has honored more than 400 young professionals.

A celebration party for the honorees will take place 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. Friday at The Exchange in downtown Corpus Christi. Donations at the door will benefit Camp Aranzazu. 

CCU40’s 2018 honorees include:

James Aleman – Aleman Allstate Agency
Andrea Amaya – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Ashley Arevalo – Period Corpus Christi
Colton Bartel – Susann’s Custom Jewelers
Zoraida Basaldu – CITGO
Bill Bonilla – Bonilla & Chapa
Matthew Brennan – Fellowship of Oso Creek
Shannon Bumstead – Bumstead Properties & Associates
Christina Buttler – Coastal Bend Center for Independent Living
Jamie Copeland – Corpus Christi Independent School District
Coral Dworaczyk – Palm Bay Rentals & Sales
Derrick Escobedo – Johnson Controls
Courtney Gallion – Corpus Christi Medical Center
Heather Garcia – Sterling Personnel
Elizabeth Gibbens – Edward Jones
Xavier Gonzales – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Erica Gonzalez – R.E.E. Inc.
Lori Gonzalez Ybarra – Lola’s Street Boutique
Claudia Huerta – Corpus Christi Convention and Visitors Bureau

Michelle Hunnicutt Hollenbaugh – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Kimberly Johnson – Tuloso Midway Independent School District
Jamie Lynn Jones – Corpus Christi Independent School District
Jennifer Laclair – Prime Real Estate
Adam Lopez – Frost Bank
Marcus Lozano – Feathered Friends and Co
Nancy Madsen – Oh My Goodness Boutique
Kathryn Mills – Cindy Boudloche, Chaper 13 Trustee
Victoria Morales – Driscoll Health Plan
Shelby O’Brien – General Land Office
Dusty Oliveria  
Heather Orr – TLC Medical Clinic & Code 3 ER Urgent Care
Ashley Ramirez – Coastal Bend Blood Center
Matthew Rodriguez – Davis, Hutchinson & Wilkerson, LLP
Sarah Scott – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Parmveer Singh – Royal India Restaurant and Singh Education Services
Ryan Smith
Randy Webb – RK webb LLC
Mayra Zamora – Mira Mayra Art