Everett Roy sworn in as Corpus Christi’s newest couniclmember

Posted at 9:32 PM, Apr 25, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-25 22:32:11-04

Corpus Christi’s newest city councilmember was sworn in on Wednesday, filling a vacancy in the city’s largest district.

Everett Roy, 55, was officially sworn in as the city’s representative for District 1 on Wednesday. Roy replaces Carolyn Vaughn, who stepped down back in February to take a seat on the Nueces County Commissioner’s Court.

Following Vaughn’s departure, the city’s largest district was without a representative, prompting the city to call for applicants. Roy was selected through that process.

Wednesday ceremony was private, but a ceremonial oath-taking will be held at the City Council’s next meeting on May 8. Until then, KRIS 6 News spent some time with Roy to get a clearer picture of the city’s newest leader.

Roy said he intends to waste no time getting down to business. The Vice-President of Kleberg Bank, Roy has not been a stranger to the needs of the local business community.

"I really am big on public safety," Roy said of his views. "Making sure that the schools are properly set-up, so that if we have anything that happens, that there’s an emergency preparedness plan in place," was also high on his priority list.

In his youth, Roy was in his junior year of college when he joined the U.S. Army, just ahead of the Gulf War.

"We knew that we were going to deploy. So I was in the 41st combat support hospital," he recounted. "We prepared to deploy into Saudi Arabia and then later into Iraq."

Roy later gained his master’s degree in management. Alongside his family, Roy has been in Corpus Christi now for six years. Since then, he’s gotten more and more involved in the community. It’s a place he looks forward to raising two of his children in.

"I’ve always talked about retiring and being in Corpus. We love the area. It’s small, a great place to raise our kids," Roy described.

Councilman Roy beat out Julian Firo, Carrie Meyer and Gilbert Trevino for the District 1 seat. He will represent the area spanning from Annaville and Calallen to Downtown and North Beach.