35th Annual Songwriter’s Showcase set for Port Aransas

Posted at 9:56 AM, May 09, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-09 14:09:41-04


On Monday, local musicians will gather in the courtyard of the historic Tarpon Inn (200 E. Cotter Ave. in Port Aransas) for the 35th Annual Songwriter’s Showcase.

This south Texas tradition is a fundraiser for the Port Aransas Art Center, and a modest $5 gate fee will allow those who attend to listen to and interact with local musicians.

Many talented songwriters will be performing their original music in 15-minute sets beginning at 6 p.m. and continuing on until 10 p.m. In addition to emcee Ronnie Narmour, this year’s list will include:

  • Bill Averbach
  • Hamp Brockman & Janet Drew
  • Guy Le Roux
  • James Derkits
  • Ty Dietz
  • Garrett Wieland & David King
  • Kelley Mickwee
  • Woodie Lawson
  • Elvin “Preecher” Williams
  • Mike Williams
  • Jered Clark
  • Billy Snipes

Due to TABC regulations, no coolers or alcohol may be brought into the courtyard. However, beer, wine and festival-type food will be available for purchase.