Aug 26, 2013 9:06 AM
AUSTIN - The Texas Department of Public Safety says most schools statewide have resumed classes and drivers should use care or be ready to pay higher fines.
DPS says one of the most dangerous times for students, such as youngsters returning to campuses on Monday, is when they enter or exit the bus.
As of Sept. 1, drivers who illegally pass school buses in Texas will face higher fines. DPS says the maximum fine for a first offense will increase from $1,000 to $1,250. Drivers who violate school bus passing laws more than once already face suspension of their licenses for up to six months.
A ticket for illegally passing a school bus in Texas cannot be dismissed through taking a defensive driving course.
33 minutes ago
Do you have a tip, information about a breaking news story, or a story idea for 6 Investigates? Contact the KRIS 6 News Desk at 361-884-6666 or send us an email.
Send us your feedback. We want to hear from you!
Look at photos and videos and share them!
|KRISTV.COM Mobile Website
Get KRISTV.com on your mobile or PDA!
|KRISTV.COM Mobile Apps
Get our mobile apps on your mobile or PDA!
See the latest winning numbers!
|6 News Team
Read about your favorite KRIS-TV personalities!
|FCC Online Public File
FCC Public File of Records, Reports, and more