Sports - Javelinas

May 1, 2013 10:47 PM

Ponder, Taska Lead Host Of Javelinas As LSC Awards Announced

RICHARDSON, Texas - Led by the junior duo of Dallas Ponder and Taylor Taska who were named the Pitcher of the Year and co-Player of the Year, respectively, the Texas A&M-Kingsville baseball team placed six players on the Lone Star Conference All-Conference teams announced on Wednesday by the league office.

Five Hoggies were named to the All-LSC first team with one second-team selection. Aside from Ponder at pitcher and Taska as the utility player, outfielder Chris Ballou, catcher Cash Barker, and closer Jeremy Flores were named to the first team. Joe Tallerine was named to the second team.

Ponder finished the regular season with a LSC best nine wins going a perfect 9-0 with a 2.32 ERA. He has struck out 76 batters in just under 78 innings and limited hitters to a .211 average at the plate. Ponder has three shutouts and three complete game performances.

Taska finished first in the conference with seven home runs and was amongst the leaders in RBI (42) and total bases (106). He was second on the team with 44 runs scored and fourth on the Javelinas with a .344 batting average. A standout on the mound as well, the junior was 7-2 with a team best 2.19 ERA.

Ballou ended the regular season with a team-best .382 finishing amongst the top 10 in the league with 29 RBI and 26 runs scored. Barker hit .367 and led the team with 18 steals. Defensively, he threw out 15 runners. Flores had an LSC-best nine saves in the regular setting the career mark in the process. Tallerine missed 10 games during the regular, but still finished with .373 average and 13 steals for Kingsville.

The Javelinas are the second seed in this weekend's LSC Championship hosted by West Texas A&M in Canyon. They face Abilene Christian on Friday at 2:30 p.m.



Player School Pos. Year Hometown
Miguel Ramirez Tarleton State SP Sr. Gallup, NM
Dallas Ponder Texas A&M-Kingsville SP Jr. Flatonia, Texas
Dylan James West Texas A&M SP Jr. Las Cruses, NM
Jake Feckley Angelo State SP Jr. Wylie, Texas
Pete Perez Tarleton State SP Sr. Hagatna, Guam
Jeremy Flores Texas A&M-Kingsville RP Sr. Victoria, Texas
Brady Rodriguez Abilene Christian RP Jr. Plymouth, Mich.
Britt Robertshaw Tarleton State RP Sr. Cedar Park, Texas
Andrew LaCombe Angelo State C Sr. Southlake, Texas
Cash Barker Texas A&M-Kingsville C Sr. Houston, Texas
Colten Boothe Tarleton State 1B Jr. Buda, Texas
John Zule Incarnate Word 2B Sr. San Antonio, Texas
Derrick Walls Incarnate Word SS Jr. San Antonio, Texas
Alvaro Moreno Tarleton State 3B Jr. McAllen, Texas
Lee Neumann Angelo State OF Sr. Brenham, Texas
Luis Quinones Eastern New Mexico OF Sr. Las Cruces, NM
Chris Ballou Texas A&M-Kingsville OF Sr. Houston, Texas
Nico Moran Tarleton State OF Jr. Longview, Texas
Peter Creamer Eastern New Mexico DH Sr. Boston, Mass.
Taylor Taska Texas A&M-Kingsville UT Jr. Houston, Texas
Kyle Giusti Abilene Christian UT Jr. Sante Fe, Texas


Matt Buckmaster Tarleton State SP Sr. Holliday, Texas
Aaron Lambrix Abilene Christian SP Sr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Carter Hahn Abilene Christian SP Sr. San Antonio, Texas
Alex Garza Incarnate Word SP Jr. Mc Allen Texas
Mike Weatherly Angelo State SP Sr. Mesquite, Texas
Patrick Ramirez West Texas A&M C Sr. San Antonio, Texas
Jared Musgrove Tarleton State C Jr. Houston, Texas
Quaid McKinnon Angelo State 1B Sr. Phoenix, Ariz.
Ryan Small Tarleton State 2B Sr. Longview, Texas
Christian Summers Angelo State SS Jr. San Angelo, Texas
Matt Redfearn West Texas A&M SS Jr. Upland, Calif.
David Hebert West Texas A&M 3B Jr. Colleyville, Texas
Reggie Rodriguez Angelo State OF Jr. Canovanas, Puerto Rico
Justin Henderson West Texas A&M OF Sr. Irving, Texas
Travis Schuetze Abilene Christian OF Sr. Corpus Christi, Texas
Joe Tallerine Texas A&M-Kingsville OF Sr. Bellview, Texas
Kyle Conwell Abilene Christian OF Sr. Seattle, Wash.
Nick smith Cameron OF Sr. Bellevue, Wash.
Mitch Tybroski West Texas A&M DH Sr. Carlsbad, Calif.
Colton Sims Eastern New Mexico UT Jr. Reno, Nev.
Tyler Coughenour Angelo State UT Jr. Wichita, Kan.


Drew Reidt Cameron SP Jr. St. Louis, Mo.
Rodge Macy Abilene Christian C Sr. Fort Worth, Texas
Jacob Rogers Eastern New Mexico C Jr. Temecula, Calif.
Tyler Eager Abilene Christian 1B So. Fort Worth, Texas
Seth Spivey Abilene Christian 2B Jr. Brenham, Texas
Tyler McKnight West Texas A&M OF Jr. Durango, Colo.
Ryan Greer Angelo State OF Sr. Glendale, Ariz.
Derek Crenshaw Eastern New Mexico OF Sr. Pinole Valley, Calif.


Player of the Year: Lee Neumann, Angelo State and Taylor Taska, Texas A&M-Kingsville

Pitcher of the Year: Dallas Ponder, Texas A&M-Kingsville

Freshman of the Year: David Goggin, Angelo State

Coach of the Year: Bryan Conger, Tarleton State


Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Submit News

Do you have a tip, information about a breaking news story, or a story idea for 6 Investigates? Contact the KRIS 6 News Desk at 361-884-6666 or send us an email.

Most Popular

KRISTV.COM is Social!

Click the icons above to receive News, Weather, and Sports alerts from KRISTV.COM!


Contact Us
Send us your feedback. We want to hear from you!
Photo Central
Look at photos and videos and share them!
KRISTV.COM Mobile Website
Get on your mobile or PDA!
KRISTV.COM Mobile Apps
Get our mobile apps on your mobile or PDA!
Texas Lottery
See the latest winning numbers!
6 News Team
Read about your favorite KRIS-TV personalities!
FCC Online Public File
FCC Public File of Records, Reports, and more