Sports - Javelinas

Jul 26, 2014 10:25 PM by Texas A&M Kingsville

1979 Texas A&I Football to be Inducted into Javelina Hall of Fame

KINGSVILLE, Texas-- On Friday, Sept. 5, the Texas A&I University 1979 football squad and staff will be inducted into the Javelina Hall of Fame at ceremonies in the Memorial Student Union Building ballrooms at Texas A&M University-Kingsville. The 1979 football team joins the 1986 men's and women's cross country clubs as inductees in this year's Hall of Fame.

35 years ago, the team was picked to finish third in the Lone Star Conference when the preseason polls were released. The 1979 Texas A&I Hoggies not only won the conference title but the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) national championship as well. On the road to the national title, the team compiled a 12-1 record and collected the seventh national trophy for the program.

In the three postseason games, the Javelinas defeated Western Colorado, 38-14, in the quarterfinals; Angelo State, 22-19, in the semifinals, and Central Oklahoma, 20-14, in the Palm Bowl in McAllen, the championship game for the NAIA at that time.

At the helm for A&I was Ron Harms. Harms took over the head coaching position two months before the start of the season. He had been the Javelina offensive coordinator in 1974 and 1975 before going to Baylor. On Harms' coaching staff were Pat Aguilar, Doug McCutchen, Pete Murray, Don Pittman, Glenn Starks, Bobby Jack Wright and Robert Young.

The team was jam-packed with talent such as Martin Stroman, Robert Pool, John Herrera and Andy Hawkins.

As starting quarterback, Stroman led the Javelina passing with 1,264 yards. He completed 78 of 162 passes. Pool was a running back for the Javelinas and was the top rusher with 1,189 yards and while Herrera started at wide receiver and led the receiving with 34 catches for 647 yards. As a linebacker, Hawkins topped the tackle chart with 134.

The Hoggies racked up several post-season honors in 1979 as well.

Defensive back, Jafus White was on two All-America squads. Durwood Roquemore and Don Washington also received All-America honors as defensive backs.

Hawkins was the most outstanding defensive player in the NAIA quarterfinal and semifinal games and was chosen for three All-American teams.

Stroman was the outstanding offensive player in the NAIA championship matchup and Herrera was the most valuable offensive player in the quarterfinals.

Defensive lineman, Leroy Seidel was the most valuable defensive player in the quarterfinals and defensive back, Emmuel Thompson was the most valuable player in the NAIA championship.

On the NAIA all-district first team were Hawkins, Herrera, Pool, Thompson, White and offensive lineman Eldon Wilie. Making the All-LSC first unit were Hawkins, Herrera, Pool, Thompson, White and Wilie. Hawkins was LSC all-academic first team.

The Javelina Hall of Fame is one of the oldest collegiate halls in the country, having been initiated in 1972.

Tickets for the banquet are $25 each and may be purchased at or at Tickets must be purchased in advance. There will be no sales at the door the night of the banquet.


Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Submit News

Do you have a tip, information about a breaking news story, or a story idea for 6 Investigates? Contact the KRIS 6 News Desk at 361-884-6666 or send us an email.

Most Popular

KRISTV.COM is Social!

Click the icons above to receive News, Weather, and Sports alerts from KRISTV.COM!


Contact Us
Send us your feedback. We want to hear from you!
Photo Central
Look at photos and videos and share them!
KRISTV.COM Mobile Website
Get on your mobile or PDA!
KRISTV.COM Mobile Apps
Get our mobile apps on your mobile or PDA!
Texas Lottery
See the latest winning numbers!
6 News Team
Read about your favorite KRIS-TV personalities!
FCC Online Public File
FCC Public File of Records, Reports, and more